RSS

Immortality

13 Jul

It is sobering to realise that time is sweeping past and some dreams may never come to fruition.
My oldest dream has been to live forever. My ex hated that, she thought the classic three score years and ten was more than enough. She just could not understand the appeal; I like being a thinking entity and there is so much to see, so much to do, so much to understand – so much to think about 🙂
Given the abuses inflicted on myself in the course of having three decades of fun, the reality seems to be that getting through another couple of decades may be a challenge.
So, if I am not to see the glorious future of man, what can possibly assuage the need for longevity?
The answer is that which many before me have found. If I cannot see the future, then I would like something of me to survive beyond my demise. The obvious thing would be some of my writing, and yes, I would like that. What writer would not like that?
But strangely, there is something above that. I find that I would like to be remembered kindly for the way I treated those around me.
Such a simple thing, and something I cannot help but think would improve the world if adopted by more people. But ‘more people’ are beyond my influence. So, to adapt another old adage, one must live in example , and hope one gets it right enough to inspire others.
I do like a challenge 😀

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 13, 2011 in Life & Self

 

Leave a Reply

 
